Maxim Zhadobov

Directeur de Recherche CNRS

Courriel : maxim [dot] zhadobov [at] univ-rennes1 [dot] fr


Maxim Zhadobov is the senior research scientist at the IETR in charge of the Electromagnetic Waves in Complex Media (eWAVES) Team of the IETR. He received the PhD degree in bioelectromagnetics in 2006 and HDR in 2016 from the University of Rennes 1, France. After a post-doctoral fellowship at the Center for Biomedical Physics, Temple University, Philadelphia, USA, he rejoined IETR as a CNRS Research Scientist.
His main research activities and expertise are in the field of innovative biomedical applications of electromagnetic fields and associated technologies. He co-authored 5 book chapters and more than 80 research papers in peer-reviewed international journals. His review article in the Int. J. Microwave Wireless Techn. has been the most cited paper in 2016-2020. A paper published by his research group in 2019 is in Journal Top 100 of Nature Scientific Reports. He has been involved in 24 research projects (12 as PI). Dr. Zhadobov was the TPC co-chair of BioEM 2020 and BioEM 2021 international conferences. He was also a TPC member and / or session organizer at IEEE IMBioC 2022, AT-AP-RASC 2022, BioEM 2019, EuMW 2019, IEEE iWEM 2017, MobiHealth 2015-2017, BodyNets 2016, and IMWS-Bio 2014 conferences. He is an elected member of EBEA Council, member of IEEE TC95.4, and vice-president of URSI France Commission K. He is also senior member IEEE, served on review boards of more than 15 international journals and conferences. He is Associate Editor of the IEEE Journal of Electromagnetics RF and Microwaves in Medicine and Biology and served as a guest editor of Applied Sciences and Sensors journals. He is a member of the Technical Advisory Committee URSI Com-K and has been acting as an expert at research councils worldwide. His teaching activities include lecturing at European School of Antennas (ESoA), 5G PhD School (IT), Uppsala University (SE), University of Rennes 1, and INSA (FR). He received CNRS Medal in 2018, EBEA Award for Excellence in Bioelectromagnetics in 2015, and Brittany’s Young Scientist Award in 2010.